Day 3: Don’t Look in the Mirror All Day

3 Jan

When you are through changing, you are through. ~Bruce Barton

**It’s 9:30 am.  My daughter thought of this one. I’ve already screwed up twice because I forgot. How many times a day do we look in the mirror?  Never thought about it.  Not sure what I’m learning from this but I’m committed. I guess this will be a no make-up day.  Wish me luck. Going out to the gym and run errands. Hope I don’t have peanut butter on my face from breakfast!

**It’s 2:00 pm.  So far I’m failing miserably at the “no mirror” thing. I ran into “myself” three times at the gym. There are mirrors everywhere! I bet we look in the mirror 50 times a day. Is it vanity or insecurity? Probably both. 

Meanwhile, I’m realizing maintaining a blog like this is completely self-indulgent, liberating, and terrifying all at the same time. I feel like I’m peeling away layers of “public self” to reveal ….hmmm… a much more personal side, sans makeup, editing, prompter. It’s raw writing. And I have no idea if anyone is reading this or I’m writing to myself.  Either way, it’s interesting.

I have received emails inviting me to learn adult ballet, fly a plane, and be part of a civil war re enactment.  Got any ideas for me? Bring it.

**It’s 5:00 pm.  I’ve concluded you have to be sick in bed or dead to avoid mirrors all day!

5 Responses to “Day 3: Don’t Look in the Mirror All Day”

  1. barb January 3, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Hey Lu Ann,
    I’m loving this blog. In fact, you may be happy to know that it’s already inspired me! I was on the treadmill this morning and my Ipod ran out of batteries in the middle of my workout. I thought about quitting because I have NEVER been on the treadmill w/o music. But, then I thought-this is a first! I continued my workout and thought about how different it felt to be on the treadmill w/o tunes-a fist for me. I don’t think I would’ve continued my workout had I not read your blog this morning. So, even if you are not sure about all this, it’s working for me!
    Barb

  2. Lu Ann January 3, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Ahhh…that makes me so happy. Fantastic! And thanks for leaving the very First comment on this blog. Another First

  3. Anonymous January 4, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    Just saw you on the 10 show – what a great idea! I lost my job last year and am one of the many unemployed. After a lot of crying, screaming and sulking… I too starting taking on new firsts. Although I didn’t realize it until I heard about your “year of firsts”. Some ideas for you… try Soy Milk (never thought I would like it), take a yoga class, get a dog, run a race in the winter… just a few for thought. Will have fun following your blog… thanks!

  4. Jummy January 4, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Awesome blog Lu Ann!!!

    Jummy Olabanji
    Reporter, WTKR
    Norfolk, VA

  5. Lu Ann January 4, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

    Thanks for your comments. And to Anonymous: especially glad to hear from you. Hang in there. I think doing firsts opens windows of opportunity you’d never expect. keep me updated.

Leave a Reply

