Day 9 of Firsts: Step Up to a Family Crisis

9 Jan

Other things may change us, but we start and end with the family. ~Anthony Brandt

11:30 AM

Today’s first is personal and serious. I had planned for it to be learning to program my cell phone. That will have to wait for another day.

There’s been a situation in my extended family that needs my attention. All I can say is I’ve ignored it hoping it would get better on its own. I can no longer in good conscience do nothing.

It’s funny. Someone recently pointed out to me it’s easier to help a total stranger at times than a member of your own family. Why? Because you don’t make judgements about someone you don’t know. You just know they need help: food, job, shelter.

The economy has taken its toll, taking down well intentioned working people that were living on the edge for one reason or another. Maybe they made mistakes too. Maybe they went down the wrong path. I hardly know a family that doesn’t have someone who has been dramatically affected. My family is no different.

So today I’m sharing with you that I’m taking a first step I probably should have taken earlier to help someone in my family. We all need to find a way to take care of each other even when it feels like it hurts too much and it’s easier to turn away and blame them for their own circumstances.

It’s a tough day and a tough first.

One Response to “Day 9 of Firsts: Step Up to a Family Crisis”

  1. Anonymous January 21, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    LuAnn,
    It is a shame you didn’t follow through with this one. Instead you chose to stay judgemental and condition the help you were willing to give. Too bad I’m not a stranger.

Leave a Reply

