Day 17 of Firsts: Use My Own Bags for Groceries

18 Jan

Change is inevitable – except from a vending machine. ~Robert C. Gallagher

In theory, I support the idea of using less plastic and paper to help the environment, but I have to admit my carbon footprint is probably pretty big. I use lots of paper. I use lots of plastic. Still, in the name of change I think it’s time to at least take my first small “green” step.

Please forgive the following video.  It’s hard to bag your own groceries with your own bags while you’re trying to document it with your flip cam.  (If you’re prone to seasickness, don’t watch!)

The fact is I bought my reusable grocery bags months ago. The problem?

              A) I would forget to put them in the car.
              B) I forgot I had them in the car. 
              C) I don’t know. I just didn’t do it.

Anyway, I finally did it today. And, I felt good about this change. It wasn’t so hard. I actually felt a little grocery bag superiority in line today. Hey, look, I’m cool, I’m green.  I’m full of it. BUT…it’s a start.

Who knows. Maybe next week I’ll stop buying bottled water and try a recycled container. Ah, I don’t know. That’d be tough….We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

