Day 18 of Firsts: Too Late to Donate?

19 Jan

Those who can, do. Those who can do more, volunteer. ~Author Unknown

I’m just going to fess up. I  blew this FIRST. 

 It was a day of service in honor of Martin Luther King.  I knew I couldn’t volunteer today but decided for the first time I’d contribute blankets to Operation Gotcha Covered. The blankets were being collected, cleaned and distributed to the homeless and families in need. Well, I took my blankets to the drop off point but found out the collection time has passed. This very sweet  firefighter took my blankets anyway.

While we are all thinking of those suffering in Haiti, there are also too many folks right here struggling for food and shelter.   

I hope my blankets still find their way to someone who needs them.

Good intentions. Bad execution.  

 

4 Responses to “Day 18 of Firsts: Too Late to Donate?”

  1. holly January 19, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    i love love love your blog! keep it up!

  2. Anonymous January 19, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    I’m enjoying reading your blog! Great idea! Thanks for sharing! If you’re still looking for ideas, try running a 5k (if you don’t normally do them). There is a great one in the Lehigh Valley, all women, called the Women’s 5k Classic. Raises money to fight women’s cancers. A fun idea would be to sky dive. I’d join you, if you do it! 🙂

  3. Lu Ann January 20, 2010 at 1:32 am #

    Believe it or not I have gone skydiving before and don’t have to do that again! But I would love to run a 5 k. sounds good. Can you email me more info?
    luann.cahn@nbcuni.com
    Thanks for leaving comments. Need the support.

  4. Anonymous January 21, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    Lu Ann,

    I sent you an email yesterday about the race. Let me know if you need anything else.
    Judy

Leave a Reply

