Day 25 of Firsts: Pay a Stranger’s Bridge Toll

26 Jan

Kindness, like a boomerang, always returns. ~Author Unknown

It seemed like a good idea for a First. Pay the bridge toll of the driver behind you. I like that it’s anonymous in the sense the driver doesn’t know why or who did it. They just think wow, that’s lucky, or cool or they’re just left to wonder why  someone did that.

 But my work partner, photographer Dave Bentley, thought it was a ridiculous idea. Neverthless, he was driving today so I had to enlist his help as we drove over the Ben Franklin Bridge from Jersey into Philly. Here’s how it went down.

So that wasn’t anonymous at all! And of course I’m telling you I did it.

The thing is I’ve been on the receiving end of random kindnesses:someone once put money in my meter, and once I was in line at Bed Bath and Beyond and someone just handed me all their good coupons. It’s a small thing, but it’s nice. I just wanted to pass it on a little today. 

Oh well. I hope someone out there was as tickled as I was that their bridge toll was paid.   I hope it made them feel like maybe they’ll do that for someone else one day.

4 Responses to “Day 25 of Firsts: Pay a Stranger’s Bridge Toll”

  1. Bethany D January 31, 2010 at 5:20 am #

    Well, hopefully that guy didn’t just pocket the money… but he looked trustworthy and nice enough, probably not.

  2. Lu Ann January 31, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    He seemed nice and amused by the whole thing. I’m sure he passed it on. Someone told me they bought coffee for the ten people that came after her. she said the cashier was so happy to pass on free coffee to other people. it’s a hard world. the little things make a difference

  3. Anonymous February 2, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    I do this every year at least twice a year. We travel from Allentown to DC several times a year. My kids get to chose which toll we “pay it behind” (as my then 4yo named it.). They watch as long as they can to see the reactions o the cars behind us. We have even convinced my mom to do it once in a while on her trips from Del. to DC. I will say EZ pass makes this something I have to conciously do now though.
    Liz

  4. Lu Ann February 3, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    Oh I love that! Your kids will always remember it.

Leave a Reply

