Day 38 of Firsts: Make Chicken Wings

8 Feb

Food is an important part of a balanced diet. ~Fran Lebowitz

I can cook but Chicken Wings have never been part of my repertoire. Still it’s  the SUPER BOWL.   In the spirit of my year of Firsts and the game I decided to join the rest of America and eat some chicken wings. Don’t ask me why I decided to make them.
 
I want to say thanks to  some very nice people offered their help on Facebook. I have to admit that the guy who said “if you don’t have a deep fryer, give up”, was probably right.
 
I started by selecting a high calorie cheesey chicken wing recipe. Then  I went out to  find some wings.  This was not as easy as I thought it would be. 
 
The first grocery store I went to did not have one fresh or frozen wing left by the time I went shopping today.  The guy behind the meat counter scoffed at me for even asking if there might be some wings in the back.  “Kinda late aren’t you??” he smirked. 
 
Hey! I don’t know anything about wings. I’m a wing virgin!  
 
I ran into the next grocery store now desperate and determined to find MY WINGS. There it was. One last package of fresh wings.   I grabbed it like it was gold and got home just as the game was starting.
 
My husband looked doubtful. No barbecue sauce, no blue cheese, no hot sauce…”cheesey wings??” he questioned.
 
   “Hey  it’s my first time”  I said…
 
He went back to the game.
 
An hour later, something that looked like chicken wings emerged from my oven.  It was then I realized I left out a major ingredient.   The cayenne pepper!!!  I quickly just threw some on top.
 

 
I served my wings with trepidation and watched as Phil took a few bites.
 

 
They really didn’t taste like any chicken wings i’ve ever had. Also my stomach is kind of hurting. 
 
I should have known when I got the last package of chicken wings, I had no idea what I was doing.  I’m just wondering if I should bring the left overs to work.
 

2 Responses to “Day 38 of Firsts: Make Chicken Wings”

  1. Jackie Morlock February 8, 2010 at 4:35 am #

    so weird!!! I just showed Josh you’re chicken wing investigation then I come on here and your first of today is to make chicken wings….now i’m nervous about how they really turned out! haha

  2. Lu Ann February 8, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    I did not get my chicken wings from a grungy fly infested garage. I was kind of thinking about it though while I was making them. Maybe that’s why they didn’t come out very well. didn’t show the wings enough love.

Leave a Reply

