Day 46 of Firsts: Learn to Juggle. Not!

16 Feb

When in doubt, make a fool of yourself. There is a microscopically thin line between being brilliantly creative and acting like the most gigantic idiot on earth. So what the hell, leap. ~Cynthia Heimel, “Lower Manhattan Survival Tactics”

It was a stressful day in the NBC 10 Investigative Office for reasons I won’t elaborate on. (Lets just say we were trying to juggle too many things.) Emma Margolin ,one of the interns, has actually been offering to teach me to juggle as a First.

We all took a little breather this afternoon for a quick lesson.

You don’t start with three balls, just two.

I am so fantastically uncoordinated and bad at this and easily encouraged by any bit of success. I have to say, it was a good stress reliever.

Anyway, as you see I’m a long way off from real juggling. Emma insists if I practice I will get it. If I show any signs of improvement I will immediately document it and let you know.

Meanwhile, i will have to be contet to just juggle my life.

3 Responses to “Day 46 of Firsts: Learn to Juggle. Not!”

  1. Piet February 16, 2010 at 2:56 am #

    Small beanbags are much easier to start with, they don’t roll when you drop them. Happy tossing!

  2. Sue Latka (TLWFD) February 16, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Lu Ann when I was in college they actually taught a course in juggling and I noted the students were using small silk handkerchiefs. Less weight and they stayed airborne longer than balls. Might want to try it that way. Hope you have fun with it.

  3. Lu Ann February 17, 2010 at 1:36 am #

    Ah Piet and Sue great suggestions. That sounds like it would be a lot easier. Will give it a try and let you know.

Leave a Reply

