Day 56 of Firsts: Climb a Salt Hill

26 Feb

Snowmen fall from heaven… unassembled. ~Author Unknown

I don’t know about you, but I’ve had it with the snow!  I don’t want to see more snow on the ground tomorrow morning! I don’t want to shovel it, scrape it, or slosh around in it. I don’t want to be in it.

Today, I was out reporting on snow preparations AGAIN!

I told the Penndot crew at the Trevose salt yard about my blog. They offered up a fun little first: climb a salt hill. Bruce Blackson was my “tour guide”.

The ground up salt is soft like sand. And here’s an interesting little fact. The state of  Pennsylvania has used a record amount of salt so far this year: over 114 thousand TONS!  

Kids would probably love to play in this stuff. 

Tomorrow I’ll be out reporting on whatever mother nature drops on us.  Please, let this be the end of it!

Leave a Reply

