Day 66 of Firsts: Drive the Speed Limit EVERYWHERE!

7 Mar

Never drive faster than your guardian angel can fly. ~Author Unknown

Driving the speed limit is nearly impossible! AND people get pretty ticked at you.

I was driving to the gym this morning around 8:30 on a 25 mph side street.  I was driving the speed limit.  A woman driving behind me was right on my tail, clearly crazed I was going so slow.  Turns out she was going to the gym too. (she pass me in the parking lot.)

I really can’t throw stones. On another day, I might be the crazed driver.   Here I am trying to go 50 mph on 76 East headed into Philadelphia.

The thing is, all day long I kept forgetting I was supposed to go the speed limit for my “first.”  I would catch myself after driving for a few minutes and realize I was always almost 10 miles above the speed limit.

Yep. I’m a habitual speeder.  I also think it’s a little dangerous to drive slower than everyone else. Not to mention the fact there are some really nutty drivers out there. 

I actually thought there was some road rage going on this morning when the driver was on my bumper.  But then I eyed her in my rearview mirror, sized her up and knew, she was just late for her spin class.  The worst she could do is throw her water bottle at me.  

6 Responses to “Day 66 of Firsts: Drive the Speed Limit EVERYWHERE!”

  1. Piet March 7, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    That’s a tough one! I’m trying to teach my 17 year old son to drive and explain to him why even though no one else is going the speed limit, he needs to while taking his driving test.

  2. Yeshuazgirl March 7, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    LOL 🙂 see why I dun go to the gym? *SMILE* – hauling water buckets & 50 pound bags of feed and 70 pound bales of hay is a better workout I say… hee hee
    plus – no crazy people who can attack you in the locker room for making them late for class….well there’s lots of pluses but..the character limit does not allow to expound upon them all here alas and alack 🙂

  3. Lu Ann March 7, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    Ha. funny. I should make clear I do NOT endorse speeding. And I remember trying to teach my kid to drive the speed limit too. I also remember her mercilessly pointing out every time I surpassed it. Good luck on that one. But don’t give up. I think I did a story indicating speed contributes to most teen driving accidents.

  4. susan smith March 9, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Where did you get that great idea for a First?!? Haha keep up the good work- you are an inspiration!

  5. Lu Ann March 14, 2010 at 2:52 am #

    Hmmm. Some really smart person gave me that idea. When are we going fly fishing???

  6. Anonymous March 26, 2010 at 1:44 am #

    Ha! Stephen broke the ice today and caught some big ones in the Saucon…maybe soon 🙂 Will keep you posted. Keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

