Day 93 of Firsts: Try Chat Roulette

2 Apr

A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history – with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila. ~Mitch Ratcliffe

My God Why??!!! 

I was curious about Chat Roulette, (that would be chatroulette.com).  My curiousity has definitely been satisfied. Within 10 minutes I realized that this is one madly wonderful idea gone terribly wrong!

Don’t know about chat roulette?  Let me explain.

It’s a new internet social network that allows you to chat live through your laptop camera with others around the world. (Sounds great, right??)

You are connected randomly through the website. If you don’t like the way the chat is going you just hit the NEXT button and you get to talk to someone else.

My first chat was with 2 young women from London. (They obviously were looking for something else and hit the next button.) Then, I got  connected to some bloke from Canterbury, England. 

Uh, I don’t know what to say about what happened next.  I had a brief discussion with this guy who assured me he would stay dressed.

I then hit the Next button and got someone named Mandy in France who didn’t talk but typed through a brief chat. No nudity here.

Chat Roulette then connected me to one guy after another sitting in chairs, in weird poses, various states of undress and looking like they were ready to expose themselves to me.  NEXT, NEXT, NEXT!

Apparently, it doesn’t matter the country, I saw what looked like men from several different cultures, ethnic groups, you name it,  doing kind of the same thing, if you get my drift.

A live camera on the internet, it turns out,  is a great way for guys to “reveal” themselves to the world.

I didn’t see any women in any state of disrobe but I imagine they are out there. So I guess those of you looking for a “good time” (in that way)  don’t need to find a number on a bathroom wall, or exchange written chat on the internet, or call some 1-800 number. Now all you have to do is log on to chat roulette.

Good grief.

2 Responses to “Day 93 of Firsts: Try Chat Roulette”

  1. Anonymous April 6, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    I think you should do a story on this! I see people on it everywhere; starbucks, the gym. I once tried it and actually felt scared!

  2. Lu Ann April 9, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Really? What kind of people do you see on it. It freaked me out.

Leave a Reply

