Day 97 of Firsts: Adult Ballet

6 Apr

We’re fools whether we dance or not, so we might as well dance. ~Japanese Proverb

The last time I took a ballet lesson was third grade.  I was the most clutzy, rolly polly, least graceful kid in the class.  I don’t  remember this as something I was good at.

Still the positive enthusiasm of Bernadette Giorgi convinced me I should try her adult ballet class at the Aquatic and Fitness Center in Bala Cynwyd.  Witness the lovely, graceful B. Giorgi.

Now here I am attempting grace.  Hmmm….

One of the women in the class told me she studied ballet for thirty years. The class reconnects her to something she loved. I get that.

Me? In my mind I’m back in third grade again. (Mademoiselle Cahn!  Point your toes!!!) I remember my ballet teacher being very strict and mean with a cane she constantly tapped on the floor. (Bernadette is nothing like my old cranky teacher)

Regardless,  I guess there are just some things we don’t shake from childhood. I still have trouble eating broccoli and I don’t think I’ll ever feel I have the grace of a ballerina. 

But hey, when not confronted with video, I can pretend. I may try it again.

Email your ideas luann.cahn@nbcuni.com
or leave me a comment   You ballet story?

One Response to “Day 97 of Firsts: Adult Ballet”

  1. Yeshuazgirl April 6, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    You did a great job beauty! 🙂 Bravo! Bravo! 🙂 *throws bouquet*

    *SMILE*

Leave a Reply

