Day 119 of Firsts: Tough Day for Sick Dog

29 Apr

Dogs’ lives are too short. Their only fault, really. ~Agnes Sligh Turnbull

Some days it’s hard to tell what to share in this blog. Some days are just personal.

I’ve committed to do a First every day this year, but no matter what I’ve planned, life sometimes has its own Firsts planned for me. 

Tonight, for the first time, I’m worried about losing my dog Angel. She’s 11. We’ve just spent the evening at the vet doing tests.  Turns out she has a severe case of pancreatitis.

Apparently, this is very serious because they told me that Angel should be hospitalized.  I opted to take care of her at home, at least for tonight to see how she does.

When I ask if she’ll get better, the answer is maybe. There are no other answers tonight. 

I pray she’ll feel better in the morning and that she’s got more good quality time ahead, more walks, more high fives, just more time. 

4 Responses to “Day 119 of Firsts: Tough Day for Sick Dog”

  1. CRC April 29, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    Sometimes writing on a blog can feel like everyone is sharing your most personal experiences.

    Thank you for the courage to share this first.

  2. Lu Ann April 29, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    I appreciate you saying that. I’m still figuring this out. Fortunately, Angel seems a little perkier today. Fingers crossed.

  3. Mary April 29, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    My Prayers are with Angel wishing for a speedy recovery!

    Let me know if there is anything that I could do.

    Mary

  4. Jenn May 2, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    So sorry you had to go through this, but awesome to hear Angel is doing better! One of our cats had pancreatitis earlier this year, and we were beside ourselves with worry.

    Big ear scratches to Angel! 🙂

Leave a Reply

