Day 151 of Firsts: Join the Venice Beach Drum Circle

31 May

Natives who beat drums to drive off evil spirits are objects of scorn to smart Americans who blow horns to break up traffic jams. ~Mary Ellen Kelly

There may be other drum circles in the world, but I doubt you’ll find a more bohemian, tribal gathering on the planet than the one that gathers every Sunday afternoon on Venice Beach, California.

It’s a trip watching, but who wants to just watch??? Get me a drum, man!

That’s my daughter in the big sunglasses and feather earrings beating the drum. Nice. 

I don’t know about “awakening the soul to ascend” but there was something very primal and spiritual about this experience.

At first I was self conscious just hitting the drum, but after awhile I forgot myself and just found a beat.  I did feel transported for a bit. (No I didn’t inhale anything.) 

I walked away feeling stress free, relaxed, smiling.  It turns out there’s something about a drum circle that soothes the soul.  You don’t need to know what you’re doing, you just need to join the circle.

 I get it now.

One Response to “Day 151 of Firsts: Join the Venice Beach Drum Circle”

  1. Yeshuazgirl May 31, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    By the time you are finished with this one year of firsts, you can certainly write a book about all of your experiences! LOL!!!!

    *Wooo… some purty wild stuff fer sure there beauty! If I see you in love beads and Birkenstocks, I’ll know why 😛

Leave a Reply

