Day 173 of Firsts: Take a Golf Lesson

21 Jun

Golf, like the measles, should be caught young, for, if postponed to riper years, the results may be serious.  ~P.G. Wodehouse, A Mixed Threesome, 1922

I’ve really had no interest in learning how to play golf.  Yes, I went to a driving range recently. I was just messing around.

Really, who wants to spend five hours on a golf course?  That’s my standard line when someone asks “Play golf?

Neverthless some golf enthusiasts in my life  have been after me to take a serious  lesson as a” first“.  Blah, Blah, Blah.   Okay.  You know I’m game for just about anything once.  But something unexpected happened.  

This is Joe Mclean at the Umbria Golf Center in Manayunk, Pa. giving me  my first lesson.   

So, here’s the thing.  I really like it!!  I do.  I might actually want to play Golf. 

 This sport I’ ve maligned all my life and thought was just some big waste of time is now something I might want to do.   Who knew???

So hopefully I will be playing on a real golf course someday soon for a first.   I love when I’m surprised. 

Leave a comment