Day 176 of Firsts: Cook with a Food Network Star

24 Jun

If God had intended us to follow recipes,
He wouldn’t have given us grandmothers.

~Linda Henley

I’ll admit, being in a television station has some unexpected perks.  Today I was told Food Network star, Daisy Martinez was going to be doing a little healthy cooking in the studio for our staffers.

What the heck.  I volunteered to help.   I learned two things very quickly about Daisy. Don’t EVER mention microwave rice. NO, NO, NO.   And don’t ever ask “How many calories are in that??” 

Here we are making Argentinian Rice Salad.

Daisy did tell me how to make the perfect rice.  (I can’t begin to explain it here. I’ll let you know if it works for me.) The recipe we made basically calls for cooked rice, anything else you’ve got in your fridg you want to throw in, (she put carrots , celery, corn and peas in) and a little olive oil, vinegar, oregano dressing with some lemon zest on top. 

Voila!    If you make this, let me know how it turns out or send me your version.  Once again I say there must be a need for a cooking show host that has no idea how to cook anything. That’d be a great job. 

Leave a Reply

