Day 177 of Firsts: Pedal a Bicycle Cab

25 Jun

The bicycle is the most civilized conveyance known to man.  Other forms of transport grow daily more nightmarish.  Only the bicycle remains pure in heart.  ~Iris Murdoch, The Red and the Green

This must be the week for weird transportation blogs.  Tuesday I rode a segway. Today I graduated to a recumbent bicycle cab.

It’s the newest way to get around short distances in Philadelphia, on the Parkway and around Rittenhouse Square. (I am not suggesting you pedal. A trained bicycle cabbie will cart you around.)

The little two seater (three if you’re tiny) Velopark Cab is cute, right?   I wanted to see how tough it would be in the driver seat.  Watch me pedal Councilwoman Blondell Reynolds Brown toward the Art Museum.   

 

The Councilwoman (who helped bring these bike cabs to Philly) is a very light passenger, but you could still walk faster than I was pedaling..

Ronn Ash, the Velopark Cab owner, says people seem a little reluctant to give it a try. I assure you he pedals much faster than I did. 

I have to say it’s clean, it’s “green” and I like this new little cabbie thing.

 

One Response to “Day 177 of Firsts: Pedal a Bicycle Cab”

  1. Mary Ziogas June 26, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    Hey Lu Ann, Nice Job! It seems to be a transportation week. I think you should ride a motorcyle next.

    Mary

Leave a Reply

