Day 185 of Firsts: Visit Please Touch Museum at Memorial Hall

3 Jul

If you want to understand today, you have to search yesterday.  ~Pearl Buck

When I first came to Philadelphia 22 years ago I was stunned to see a building like Memorial Hall in Fairmount Park, abandoned, boarded up, broken, and dirty.

The building was built as part of the historic 1876 Centennial Fair,   the fair where Alexander Graham Bell introduced the telephone to the world.

I was so thrilled when the Please Touch Museum renovated the building and moved in.  I guess I haven’t been inside because I kept thinking I would find some children to come with me.  Today I just had to bring the child inside me and go.

Oh, it is lovely!  Come with me. The ride on the restored carousel is worth the whole ticket price.

Phil Valenti is passionate about the history of Memorial Hall and I felt lucky he was there to share some of  his knowledge with me.

Learn more at  http://www.pleasetouchmuseum.org/

Leave a Reply

