Day 192 of Firsts: Mourn and Share Some of Your Thoughts

10 Jul

Dogs’ lives are too short.  Their only fault, really.  ~Agnes Sligh Turnbull

I can’t thank you enough for all your thoughts, emails, phone calls, messages. It helps more than you can know as we mourn the loss of our dog Angel.  

For me, it is just natural to write about the best and the worst things in life, to document what I see.  It’s incredibly therapeutic for me to be able to share this event and know so many of you have gone through it and understand so completely.

I’m sad to learn a few of you have lost your own family pets this week.  They may not be our children, but they are family, so much a part of our lives. 

Today I thought I heard Angel waking me up at her usual 6:30 in the morning.  The mind imagines what it wants I guess when we grieve. 

I hope it’s okay.  I shared some of your thoughts here to share with others.     

From Rod ~All of us have made that final trip to the vet, and for us we have done it twice. When you leave, it is as though you have left a part of your heart and sole behind. But please know that it was the right thing to do.

From Jackie~We feel like their mothers and fathers…they’re our babies because they so depend on us for so much. And when they die, we surely lose a member of the family. Time will heal.

From Loraine~”It is not just that animals make the world more scenic or picturesque. The lives of animals are woven into our very being – closer than our own breathing – and our soul will suffer when they are gone.”
~Gary Kowalski, Author of The Souls of Animals

Thanks again for all of your kind words.

     Lu Ann

 

4 Responses to “Day 192 of Firsts: Mourn and Share Some of Your Thoughts”

  1. carole blum July 11, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    LuAnn, you had such a wonderful week of “me” time and then to say goodbye to your best friend is so tough.My family went though this tough time in November. Instead of going to the vet, we took our dog to University of Penna. animal hospital and donated her body to the teaching hospital.It was a bitter sweet ride to the hospital for we all knew that what we were doing was the right thing (by putting her out of her pain) but it was so painful to know we would have to live without her. We loved her for the last time and left her on her favorite bed. I sometimes come into my house and yell her name and imagine her running towards me wagging her tail and wanting to be petted. Such great memories of our best friend, JEWELS.

    • oneyearoffirsts July 12, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

      I’m not sure why it’s so comforting to know so many of gone through this experience. It just makes me feel not alone in this.

  2. Stephanie Baffone July 16, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    Hi Lu Ann,
    I’ve watched you for years on local tv-your sincerity translates so well and I’m a big fan!
    We just put our first dog, Bella, down a few weeks ago-it was gut-wrenching. I sobbed for days and as a grief and loss therapist myself, it was so hard to be on the other side of the couch these past few weeks.
    Your family is in my thoughts. Pet loss is devestating. Bella was my first dog, our home was alive with her spirit for 16 yrs. So hard to have her missing. Bless your Angel.
    Hugs to your family.

Leave a Reply

