Day 194 of Firsts: Interview Zac Efron!

12 Jul

 Jean-Claude Van Damme quotes

What is a movie star? It is an illusion. It was everything I ever wanted to be, but it became a kind of shell, non? It was what made me famous and got me women. But it wasn’t real.
He is absolutely adorable. I sat next to him. I asked questions. I took pictures with him and my 23 year old daughter living in L.A. is beyond jealous.How did I get so lucky? Just happened to be filling in as co-host of the 10! Show.What’s Zac Efron like?  He is sweet, seems sensitive, polite, and humble.  Is all that real? I don’t know. But at 22 he carries it off. 

We were asked by his publicists not to ask about his girlfriend, or his cut body.  We obliged .  I think he would have been fine answering questions like that anyway.  He stayed longer than we expected, signed some autographs and was perfectly lovely.

Here’s a clip from the interview. 

I felt my inner teen girl scream AHHHH. But I think I was chanelling Davey Jones and Bobby Sherman. (If you don’t know who they are, then you’re a lot younger than me. )

But the thing about Efron is not only can he sing, he really can act.   He will be one of the Disney kids that will make the transition to more mature roles.    I’m sure I’ll say someday, “oh yeah, you know, I interviewed him early in his career”.  

What a treat.  If all his sweetness is an act, so be it.  It’s a good one.  His new movie is Charlie St.Cloud in theaters soon.

Leave a Reply

