Day 210 of Firsts: Count My Steps

28 Jul

Above all, do not lose your desire to walk.  Every day I walk myself into a state of well-being and walk away from every illness.  I have walked myself into my best thoughts, and I know of no thought so burdensome that one cannot walk away from it.  ~Soren Kierkegaard

Somehow I ended up with a cheap little pedometer someone gave me.  I decided I’d use it. Out of curiosity, I just wanted to know how many steps I take.  I thought it was tens of thousands.  WRONG!

I started the pedometer at work. Today I was in the office preparing a story for air but I run around the studio a lot. I guess not enough.

So get this. If you only take 2-3,000 steps a day you are considered SEDENTARY.  At the end of my work day I’d still taken just less than 2,000 steps.

Now, fortunately I did get on the tread mill before I came to work.  Apparently there are about 2,000 steps per mile, so I logged about 6,000 steps before I got to work.  Apparently 8-10,000 steps a day promotes weight loss.

Actually, one report says if you just walk an extra 2,000 steps (that’s a mile) a day, you may never gain another pound!   Still, that’s a lot.   I don’t think I’m sendentary but  when I don’t go to the gym, I might be.

Huh.  Well, what do you know. I guess we all better get walking.

Leave a Reply

