Day 217 of Firsts: Bait and Fish on St. Augustine Pier

4 Aug

If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there’d be a shortage of fishing poles.  ~Doug Larson

 My brother in law Rusty told me he was taking his grandkids up on the Pier tonight to go fishing. I know nothing about fishing.  Hooks? Bait? Gutting fish?  Nada!

The fact they were going to do all this at night? Even more interesting.  I asked to come along.

It was a gorgeous night on the Pier. Stars were out. Breeze was blowing.  Fish weren’t biting  (for me.)

I actually didn’t mind putting the bait on the hook.  I just don’t understand the whole waiting for the fish to bite process.

Anyway, young Kaylei and Rusty were quite patient trying to tutor me in fishing.  (Kaylei thinks I’d do better deer hunting.  Have to think about that one.)

I didn’t catch a thing.  I feel sure those fish that keep taking my bait knew I didn’t have a clue. .

One Response to “Day 217 of Firsts: Bait and Fish on St. Augustine Pier”

  1. Mary Ziogas August 5, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Deer Hunting???????????? Well, you would need to talk to Paul about that!

Leave a Reply

