Day 219 of Firsts: Test Drive an RV

6 Aug

To get away from one’s working environment is, in a sense, to get away from one’s self; and this is often the chief advantage of travel and change.  ~Charles Horton Cooley

So I’m watching the Today Show this morning and actress Jennie Garth comes on saying she’s driven cross country with her kids to New York in an RV.  I’m trying to picture this and I’m laughing.  The 90210 star says she was sick of planes and wanted to stop to see relatives along the way.

Hmmm.  I started thinking.  Wonder how that RV was outfitted?  Could I drive a big ‘ole RV?  I’m not even sure I’ve been in one in recent history.

I called a local dealer. Ocean Grove RV Super Center in St. Augustine.  I explained that Jennie Garth drove and RV and I want to drive one too.  They said, “Come on over.”

Karl Senderling, (who went to school in Philadelphia), showed me their top of the line recreational vehicle.  Wow, they do some nice stuff in these things. 

I, however, did a test drive in a smaller RV.  Karl took me on a little spin down the street and back.  My husband (shooting the video )came along for the ride too.

My father always said he wanted one of these things. My mother said she’d divorce him if he bought one. (She divorced him anyway.) 

My husband says he’d like one too.  What is it with guys and the RV thing? 

 I could see traveling in this for a little vacation. Then again I picture Chevy Chase in one of those vacation movies and I think “no way.”   But, then again Jennie Garth did it! 

Leave a Reply

