Day 220 of Firsts: Rent a Player and a Movie for the Plane

7 Aug

Both optimists and pessimists contribute to our society.  The optimist invents the airplane and the pessimist the parachute.  ~Gil Stern

I might have mentioned before that I get nervous on planes.  Any distraction is a good distraction

 I am not opposed to spending money to keep myself from going white knuckled through turbulence. (This could mean alcohol, or a really good page turner. I am willing to try almost anything I can get my hands on to busy or quiet my wildly imaginative and “sure I’m headed for disaster” mind.)

Today I saw the Inmotion store at the Jacksonville Airport and went for it.  For 16 dollars you get a player and a movie that you return at your destination airport.   

(I’ve been waiting for an excuse to use that plane/boat effect. Silly, I know.)

So here are the positives from the experience:

a) I ignored all turbulence. Excellent!

b) I rented Invictus. Excellent

c) It was easy to rent and easy to return. Excellent

Negatives

a) I couldn’t get the volume up high enough to hear every word in the movie. Not good.

b) The flight attendant made me turn off the movie a half hour before we landed so I didn’t see the end.  Not good.

If you’re thinking of  using a movie rental for a plane I would suggest you test the player to make sure the volume is loud enough. (Remember , there is plane noise) You can also just rent the movie (for 5 dollars) to play on your laptop if you think your battery will survive the flight.)

Will I try this again? hmmm. Maybe on a flight to California.   In my case, everything and anything helps.

Leave a Reply

