Day 221 of Firsts: Pick Your Own Peaches and Corn

8 Aug

Life is better than death, I believe, if only because it is less boring, and because it has fresh peaches in it. ~Alice Walker

It was one of those days. One of those days I felt lazy and just wanted to do nothing.  But the blog is a daily assignment; my own life assignment.  

I read in the paper it was Peach Festival Day at Linvilla Orchards.  A sign to get my act in gear and get my body out the door and into a First.

As usual, as soon as I got there I was happy. The sun was shining, there were families everywhere, children excited to get on the hayrides to  pick corn and peaches, grapes and fresh vegetables.  I actually was a little excited too.

I ran into an old friend, maybe a new friend and thought how wonderful to pick food straight from the tree or the stalk and take it to your table.      Look at the gorgeous peaches I picked.

I’ve never picked peaches before.  I do know these won’t be good for eating for awhile because they’re hard as rocks right now. 

My daughter asked me today what I’ll do when this year of Firsts is over.  I wonder.  I wonder if on days like today I’ll just do nothing, or if I’ll remember how invigorating and refreshing it is to do something new and talk myself into saying yes to whatever comes my way. 

I hope I’ll remember a First changes the whole day.

Leave a Reply

