Day 227 of Firsts: Get Dunked in a Dunking Booth

14 Aug

As a child, my number one best friend was the librarian in my grade school.  I actually believed all those books belonged to her.  ~Erma Bombeck

I got up at 3:30 this morning to anchor the morning news. At noon I started on my way to Telford, Pa. because I promised I would get dunked at the Indian Valley Public Library for a first.  As I’m driving out there, I’m thinking this is nuts.  I’m too tired. Why am I driving an hour to get there.

When I got there, I knew.  Sometimes I guess you just get lucky in spite of yourself and I was lucky to be at this dunk tank. I’m not sure I can explain the sweetness and love librarians Lindy Janson and Sarah Figueroa have for the children they’re trying to encourage to read.

Watch this video and then you’ll see.  They convinced 600 children to read books this summer for a chance to dunk them today.  I was cordially invited since I’ve never been dunked before and I volunteered to go first. You’ll see we had a few foul ups with the dunking machine. Made it all the more fun. We didn’t know what would happen next!

All I know is when I left the librarians who were still being dunked I didn’t feel tired any more. I felt inspired and happy and glad there are people like Lindsay and Sarah in the world.  Glad to know they’ve helped create a safe, nurturing haven for the children  in their community. 

Yes, yes, I know it’s sappy and I might be slap happy and delirious now.  But what I’m thinking is sometimes it’s a really good thing to get dunked.    

Leave a Reply

