Day 228 of Firsts: See Three Movies in the Theater in One Day

15 Aug

The length of a film should be directly related to the endurance of the human bladder.  ~Alfred Hitchcock

UPDATE-Blog friends, please forgive me. So wiped out last night I couldn’t do anything but close my eyes after watching movie number three last night.   

I love movies. My husband and daughter love movies too.  Lately, I haven’t seen anything in a theater  because of my crazy schedule.  My daughter and I have  tried movie marathons before that usually last for a weekend. I don’t think we’ve seen more than two in one day. Decided a good first would be to cram three into one day.  I must say it was one movie too much for me.

Inception is really interesting and I think I would like to see it again when I have all my brain cells firing.  My daughter suggested I see that first instead of last. She was right.  You need to be thinking to stay up with what’s happening in this movie.

The Kids are Alright is a great script, nicely acted, interesting story.  It may have been the best of  the three.  Unfortunately, the story of a gay couple (Annette Benning and Julianne Moore) raising their two kids and meeting their sperm donor just doesn’t sound that great on the surface.  The title of this film doesn’t help either.  But I’m telling you it’s entertaining and smart and true to all relationships and it’s worth seeing.

I loved the book Eat Pray Love and the movie reminded me of why I like the book. Unfortunately the movie, while pretty true to the book,  just seems flat in some places.  Still glad I saw the movie. Don’t know how you’ll like it if you haven’t read the book.   You can definitely wait until this one comes out on DVD.   

It’s 10:19PM.  I got up at 330 am to work.  Had some crazy idea about going on a movie marathon for a first. Three movies in a day.  DONE.   Eat, Pray Love…then…The Kids are Alright….then finally the mind blowing Inception.

Completely beat…can’t think straight.   Will tell you all about it tomorrow.  Will probably never attempt this again…AHHHH.

2 Responses to “Day 228 of Firsts: See Three Movies in the Theater in One Day”

  1. carole blum August 15, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

    i totally can feel your mental pain. I did see all 3 movies on 3 separate days and it was hard to do that.Please allow yourself time to absorb what you saw because each one has a beautiful story to tell!!!

    • oneyearoffirsts August 16, 2010 at 11:26 am #

      Carole…you are so right…too much can just be too much sometimes.

Leave a Reply

