Day 234 of Firsts: Rowing Lesson

21 Aug

Get over the idea that only children should spend their time in study.  Be a student so long as you still have something to learn, and this will mean all your life.  ~Henry L. Doherty

Every time I learn to do something new or try to do something new I feel like I’m living full out. Does that make sense? It’s just exciting to constantly be stretching the boundaries of your life.  Taking a rowing lesson today with people I’d never met before was just a perfect shared adventure.  

Blog fan, Judy Hasday, invited me to today’s row and paddle event on the Schuylkill River.  Philadelphia’s Access to Rowing and Paddling  is trying to get people like me, who don’t know how to row or think rowers have some exclusive club, to get over it and get into it.

I was fortunate to be teamed with Mary Catherine Dabrowski and Naisha Walton. (I apologize if I’ve misspelled names. Didn’t have a pen on the water.) Haverford student Chris Miller was our teacher in the boat. Some lovely gentlemen named Brian was coaching us from a launch boat.  Christopher Blackwall, who helped organize the event got me started with a lesson on land. 

 Watch the progress on the water.  Not bad!

Mary Catherine , Naisha and I felt pretty proud of ourselves when we felt our oars pulling in unison. We were gliding.  If rowing IS a feeling, then it’s a great feeling! 

9 Responses to “Day 234 of Firsts: Rowing Lesson”

  1. Judy August 21, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Wow… you looked TERRIFIC out there! Looked like you were really having a great experience. Way to go Lu Ann!
    Wish I had been able to grab a launch to follow your group, but I’m glad Phil got out there to see you! Congrats on the completion of another “Day of Firsts.”

  2. Ashley August 21, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    This is awesome! I use to row for a little bit in high school – I loved being out on the water!

  3. Mary Ziogas August 21, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    Nice Job Lu Ann, you look like a Pro out there.

  4. Mary Catherine Dabrowski August 22, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    Yesterday was so much fun. I’m so glad I got to row with you and Naisha. I think your blog concept-attempt a “first” every day-is so inspirational. I’ll be fowllowing your blog and cheering you on in your year of “firsts”!

    • oneyearoffirsts August 22, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

      So nice to meet you Mary Catherine. I can tell you naturally incorporate firsts in your life. You definitely have a spirit of adventure. Let me know if you’ve got some ideas. Always looking for more interesting firsts.

      • Naisha Walton August 23, 2010 at 10:45 am #

        Hey Lu Ann! What a cool blog idea. Enjoy the rest of the year!

        Best,
        Naisha xo

      • oneyearoffirsts August 23, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

        Thanks Naisha. Fun rowing with you. You going to row again?

  5. Naisha Walton August 24, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    Oh, absolutely! Really looking forward to it. What about you? It would be interesting to see which of your favorite firsts make it to seconds, thirds, etc….

    • oneyearoffirsts August 24, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

      I’ve been thinking about that. Rowing would definitely be something I’d want to do for seconds.

Leave a Reply

