Day 239 of Firsts: “Blind” for an Hour

26 Aug
 
In faith there is enough light for those who want to believe and enough shadows to blind those who don’t. ~Blaise Pascal
I think I have a fear of not being able to see. Being “blind” for an hour has been on my “first list” for awhile but I kept putting it off. 
When I was in 2nd grade I was actually in a Brownie troop in which half the girls were blind.  I’ll never forget it. I learned a great deal from the Brownies who couldn’t see, but it also terrified me.  I could see how difficult things were for them. I remember feeling so grateful every time I left a Brownie meeting that I had my eye sight.
Tonight I simply tied a scarf around my eyes and tried to make dinner.  I ended up turning on the tv just to keep me company, give me some noise.  There’s not much video because apparently when I thought the camera was on, it was off, but here’s a good clip of what I was doing.
In the end, I spilled a drink, something fell out of the refrigerator but no serious harm done.  When I took off the scarf after an hour the light seemed so bright. I felt relieved just as I did as a child after a Brownie meeting to be able to see.
All the problems of the day went away.  There are far worse things than a tough day at work.
3 Responses to “Day 239 of Firsts: “Blind” for an Hour”

  1. THE Eco-Chic Boutique August 26, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    WOW LuAnn this was brave and touching. My step-mother is legally blind she can see a little but not much. I do not know how she gets around so well. Her sight has deteriorated tremendously over the last few years. (She has retinitis pigmentosa) I really admire people that have such diabilities and how they overcome them is awesome. Great first and another way to truly have an attitude of grattitude.

    Keep ’em coming beauty!
    x0x0x
    All The Best!!!

    Patti

  2. Jackie Strauss August 27, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    This, I’m sure, was a very valuable “First” for you, and also for all of us watching you.
    It’s one thing to be born blind, and another entirely to lose your sight after reaching adulthood.
    My cousin had normal sight all of her life, until at the age of 58, a series of radiation hits to shrink a pituitary tumor, blinded her….completely. Not even light perception!! She lived alone, and those first few months were sheer terror for her. It really never got better, and the stress of being blind eventually caused a stroke and heart attack, and she finally passed away at the age of 68….much too young.
    Now that you’ve been “blind” for an hour, can you imagine what she went through for 10 years?!
    It’s a very sad story, I know, and I’m sorry to tell it, but when I read about this “First”, it just really hit home.
    Yes, I think we all should probably do something like you’re doing to make us thank God for our blessings. To make us realize just how lucky we really are.
    Hugs…
    ~Jackie Strauss

    • oneyearoffirsts August 28, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

      Hi Jackie,
      thanks for your thoughts and your story. appreciate your input.
      Lu Ann

Leave a Reply

