Day 241 of Firsts: Soul Line Dancing

28 Aug

Dancing faces you towards Heaven, whichever direction you turn.  ~Terri Guillemets

You are about to see I have very little Soul in my step. I don’t know how to  free style, or do the Chicago, or roll my shoulders while moving backwards. But I’ll tell you what. It’s a lot of fun trying.

Kenny J ( Kenneth Johnson) has been trying to get me to one of his soul line dancing classes for months. This weekend I finally made it to a Soul Line Dancing contest/conference/competition in Claymont, Delaware.

I learned a couple of the easier moves, but some of the best line dances have so many wonderful complex steps, my brain and body could not get it together.  I just had to get out of the way and enjoy the show.

I’m easy to pick out of the crowd. I’m the one that’s two steps behind everyone else. 🙂

I wish I could have stayed all day. Great time. Great people who are so happy to teach and share. But I definitely need some remedial soul lessons. My “bump it left, bump it right” just doesn’t bump well at all. 

Kenny J Productions has regular dance nights and always happy to take on new line dancers like me.

One Response to “Day 241 of Firsts: Soul Line Dancing”

  1. Adrienne Jenkins June 20, 2012 at 2:58 am #

    Good for you to do “Brazil” with all that turning. Hope you try soul line dancing some time again soon.

Leave a Reply

