Day 244 of Firsts: Nude Drawing Class

31 Aug

The buttocks are the most aesthetically pleasing part of the body because they are non-functional.  Although they conceal an essential orifice, these pointless globes are as near as the human form can ever come to abstract art.  ~Kenneth Tynan

I can’t draw. I’ve never seriously tried to sketch the human form. I swear though, I think if I sat in the Rittenhouse Drawing Group long enough I might learn through osmosis.  Or maybe that’s just wishful thinking. Probably.

Mark Bullen is a well known portrait artist who knows how to draw flesh. Gorgeous nudes fill his Philadelphia studio. He recently decided to support aspiring artists by creating the Rittenhouse Drawing Group.  For $10.00 he provides a live model and a space to create. 

This was one of the most interesting Firsts I’ve done.  I know this will never be my talent, (my little sketch was so raw) but I  enjoyed trying to draw, watching artists work, and being in this lovely environment.  Thanks to our model who allowed me to take  video of her.

Mark says all artists are welcome to the Rittenhouse Drawing Group or people like me who just want to be artists. 

One Response to “Day 244 of Firsts: Nude Drawing Class”

  1. Cherie Mathews August 31, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    Well Lu Ann I must say for your first time I thought you did great. There certainly was some talent in that class room.

    Can’t wait until your next first thing.

    You will never be able to stop experiencing firsts it is a life style now and a good one.

    Cherie Mathews
    Austin, Texas

Leave a Reply

