Day 249 of Firsts:Harry Kalas & CellPhone Laurel Hill Tour

5 Sep

The graveyards are full of indispensable men.  ~Charles de Gaulle

It was my husband’s idea to go to Laurel Hill Cemetary. He heard about a cell phone tour of the most interesting grave sites. 

I really don’t usually tour cemetaries but this one overlooking the Schuylkill River in Philly is beautiful.  At the end of this video you’ll see the monument on the grave of Harry Kalas. It’s really something.  I don’t know if it’s a good something or a bad something.  I can’t decide.  It’s sweet and it’s perfect and seems out of place.   Tell me what you think.

I really don’t recommend the cell phone tour.  It’s kind of a pain.

But Laurel Hill is spectacular as cemetaries go. I’ve always thought I’d probably prefer cremation when my time is up.  Then I realized today cemetaries like Laurel Hill are places of history. This is our history.  The gravestones, the dates, the evidence of incredible and interesting lives are here.

Hmmm.  Maybe we can start Broadcast hill.  Wonder what a teeny, tiny little spot in the shadow of Kalas would cost.  Is that horrible? Just wondering.  Phil’s right. That’s some prime real estate.

 

Leave a Reply

