Day 262 of Firsts: Bury Angel’s Ashes

18 Sep

You ask of my companions.  Hills, sir, and the sundown, and a dog as large as myself that my father bought me.  They are better than human beings, because they know but do not tell.  ~Emily Dickinson

It has been over two months since we had to put sweet Angel to sleep. I still miss this dog every day.

I have held on to her ashes knowing I wanted to bury them but just wasn’t ready.  I believe in the ashes to ashes idea.  Back to the earth.

Finally, on this beautiful day I decided it was time.  I took her to the little spot where  she loved to watch the world go by. 

I feel like I’m still looking for her some days. 
Somehow I feel better returning her to her  to her special place.

5 Responses to “Day 262 of Firsts: Bury Angel’s Ashes”

  1. PhillyChitChat September 18, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    That was beautiful. Sorry about Angel.

  2. ljmckay7 September 19, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    That made me cry. I am so sorry for your loss. And thank you for sharing this moment with us. Hugs for you!

  3. Mary Ziogas September 21, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    It brought tears to my eyes. I really miss Angel. Glad she was put to rest at her favorite place.

Leave a Reply

