Day 265 of Firsts: Teach at Drexel

21 Sep

The dream begins with a teacher who believes in you, who tugs and pushes and leads you to the next plateau, sometimes poking you with a sharp stick called “truth.”  ~Dan Rather

This is a BIG first. Tonight I taught my first class at Drexel University. I’m teaching grad students Investigative Journalism for a semester.

If you are one of my students reading this, I just want you to know how excited I am to teach you.  And what I forgot to say tonight is that I know I’m going to be learning as much from you as I hope you will learn from me.

I also know, THREE HOURS is a long class! Whoa.  I know this may be the toughest “audience” I’ve been in front of in my career. 

Some of us have a lot in common: working full time and also working on a masters degree. 

Everyone in class will be working on their own investigative projects. Can’t wait to see what you guys come up with.

Here’s part of our discussion about what makes a story “investigative”.

4 Responses to “Day 265 of Firsts: Teach at Drexel”

  1. David Douglas September 21, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    I hope you are going to show them your National Emmy Winner!

  2. Jen September 21, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    Congrats on your first class. I’m super excited for you.

  3. Mary Ziogas September 22, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    Congratulations on your First Class! They are lucky to have you as their teacher! I am very excited for you.

Leave a Reply

