Day 277 of Firsts:Cake & Decorate from Scratch

3 Oct

Seize the moment.  Remember all those women on the Titanic who waved off the dessert cart. ~Erma Bombeck

Lucy Reall is a perfectionist when it comes to cakes and she’s an incredible teacher.  She says she learned to bake from family in her native Cape Verde off the west coast of Africa.

Lucy is a sweetheart and sells her cakes and offers lessons (Lucy’s Sugar N Spice )to anyone who wants to make cakes from scratch with professional looking results.

I can tell you I would never attempt this on my own.  This was truly a first that is WAY out of my comfort zone.

Lucy had me practice making shells, flowers, and rosettes of icing on her baking table in her home kitchen before I put the finishing touches on the cake.

Check this out. I can assure you it tastes as good as it looks.

NBC 10 Investigators will be eating the rest of this butter cream chocolate ganache cake tomorrow. Must get it out of the house before I overdose.  So yummy.

You can learn more about Lucy and her fabulous desserts at info@lucysugernspice.com 401-808-1951

One Response to “Day 277 of Firsts:Cake & Decorate from Scratch”

  1. Tamee October 28, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    Lucy is such a sweetheart and she is an incredible chef! She taught me how to bake a cake too and it was the best cake I have ever had. She is so patient! And talented! Way to go on your cake and on all the new things you are trying! 🙂

Leave a Reply

