Day 283 of Firsts: Parkour aka Street Running

9 Oct

Life is not merely to be alive, but to be well.  ~Marcus Valerius Martial

This was my daughter’s idea and when I saw what it was I thought she was nuts. This looks like the kind of stunts you see in movies. You know, like Mission Impossible kind of leaping through the air, jumping over rooftops, rolling off cars. Crazy, right?

It’s called Parkour and Mounir Ouazzani assured me I could do this. He takes some groups out on the streets for practice but training starts in the gym, thank God.

This is unfortunately, another one of those things where you think you look amazing and you look like just what you are….a klutz.  

BUT, I have to say I had the best time doing this.  You have to overcome your fears, you have to believe in your body and that you can do it.  So much fun.  Felt like a kid.  I walked into the gym exhausted and left completely energized.

Think female James Bond…here I am, ready for ACTION!

Mounir gives private lessons for $20 bucks or groups lessons.  Such a blast. He teaches kids and adults who want to feel like kids.

You can find him at philapk@gmail

One Response to “Day 283 of Firsts: Parkour aka Street Running”

  1. FreeStyleFox October 11, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    You did Great!! I hope you plan to keep with it. It is a lot of fun and can be truly rewarding. Great luck and enjoy your journeys thought life.

    PS: I love the idea of a year of firsts!

    ~Dale

Leave a Reply

