Day 284 of Firsts:Bake for Overnight News Crew

10 Oct

For many people a job is more than an income – it’s an important part of who we are.  So a career transition of any sort is one of the most unsettling experiences you can face in your life.  ~Paul Clitheroe

For about the last 10 weekends, I’ve been the fill in anchor on the weekend morning newscast for NBC10 News.  That means on Saturday and Sunday mornings I’ve been getting up at 3 ish in the am to get ready for showtime at 6am.

But that’s nothing compared to the hours the overnight crew works to get the shows ready before I come in.  Writers and producers come into the newsroom at 1am to write and edit the majority of the newscasts.  It’s a tough shift.

Anyway, this was my last weekend before Stacey Stauffer comes back from maternity leave.  I decided to cook breakfast for the overnight crew. You may not see them but they’re the people that make the anchor look good and these guys have been so generous showing me the ropes on the weekend morning shift. 

To Naomi, Jane, Conville, Elyse, Monica, Kristen, Richie, Colleen, Laura, Vee, Dan, Ross,  Michelle and Dave…(and if I’ve forgotten someone, I’m sorry…)  Thank you for the patience and support.  I’ll miss you guys, but not the blaring alarm in the middle of the night. 

Michelle Grossman has been my on air partner and a great cheerleader when  the brain and tongue start disconnecting from lack of sleep.  WAKE UP! ha.   

Leave a Reply

