Day 288 of Firsts:Speak at Pa. Conf. for Women

14 Oct

Whatever women do they must do twice as well as men to be thought half as good.  Luckily, this is not difficult.  ~Charlotte Whitton

I was invited to speak and attend the Pennsylvania Governor’s Conference for Women held in Pittsburgh today.  I had no idea how big and how inspiring it would be.  Thousands of women came to learn how to improve their lives, their careers and their futures.

I moderated a panel on Reinventing Your Life based on my experience with this blog. There must have been close to 800 women in the room.  The women on the panel have made such extradordinary changes in their lives.  I am so thrilled to meet them. I was amazed how many women raised their hand when I asked if they felt stuck in their lives.

Joyce Bender says women get stuck and loose their “muchness“. We all liked that. She was diagnosed with epilepsy and is now the CEO of Bender consulting Services, recruiting and hiring people with disabilities.  Leigh Hurst founded Feel Your Boobies, educating young women about breast cancer after she was diagnosed at age 35.  Nikki Johnson-Huston was homeless and lived in poverty as a child. Today she is one of the rising stars in Philadelphia’s legal community.  I can’t thank them enough for making my job so easy today.

Next year the conference is in Philadelphia. If you ever get the chance…go. I know I made connections and perhaps new friendships today that will be a part of my reinvented future.

2 Responses to “Day 288 of Firsts:Speak at Pa. Conf. for Women”

  1. carole blum October 15, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE READING YOUR BLOG EVERYDAY! IT PUTS A SMILE ON MY FACE TO KNOW THAT YOU ARE SO CREATIVE AND LOVING LIFE!!!!

    • oneyearoffirsts October 16, 2010 at 6:03 am #

      Thanks Carol. Still want to do a first at your store. Let’s set a date. My schedule has been nuts but I’m off weekends now.

Leave a Reply

