Day 291 of Firsts: Ballroom Dancing & Craps

17 Oct

Remember, Ginger Rogers did everything Fred Astaire did, but backwards and in high heels.  ~Faith Whittlesey

It was a twofer today. This is the 2nd year I’ve emceed the Annual South Jersey Breast Cancer Coalition Dance & Chance for a Cure.  It’s a splendid event at the Stardust Ballroom in Belmawr, New Jersey.

 Last year I didn’t dance because I have no idea how to do ballroom dances.

This year I asked organizer Loretta Mikulski to help me out and she set me up with a quick little lesson. 

 Now when you see this you’ll think I actually know what I’m doing.  I can assure you I don’t.  The entire time, Ron Kania ( Couples Dance Studios) is talking to me and telling me exactly what I’m going to do next.  He actually makes me look like I have a clue.

(I also think a swinging dress helps you fake it.  I learned this from Dancing With the Stars.)

I also don’t know much about gambling.  I still don’t understand craps but it was a good time and a good cause and apparently I’m pretty good with the dice.

Thanks Loretta for all your hard work all year long.

Leave a Reply

