Day 303 of Firsts: Crash, Be Sick, Grade Papers

29 Oct

I reckon being ill as one of the great pleasures of life, provided one is not too ill and is not obliged to work till one is better.  ~Samuel Butler, The Way of All Flesh, 1903

Well, its finally happened. I’m sick. First day this year I just have to crash. I’ve been fighting some crazy chest cough for two weeks and I’m just worn out.

I came home from work, put on my pj’s, curled up on the couch and started grading papers. (I don’t know if that’s good or bad for my grad students.)

I’ve had an amazingly healthy year. Who knows. Maybe it’s because of this blog. There is something about it that has had me jumping out of bed every morning, that’s for sure.

Anyway, I’m in the home stretch. I had to give it up today and now I’m going to curl up in a ball, cough my lungs out and pray I wake up tomorrow morning with a little more get up and go.

Leave a Reply

