Day 307 of Firsts: Be the First to Vote

2 Nov

Bad officials are elected by good citizens who do not vote. ~George Jean Nathan

I had to be at work at 7:15 am anyway. So I thought I’ve never been the first one at the polling place in line to vote.  Polls opened at 7:00. I got myself to the Bellmont Hills Library at 6:35 in Bala Cynwyd just to make sure no other voter would be in front of me.

Good thing I got there early. Within 10 minutes, 10 other people were waiting with me.  I must say I felt pretty good about being first in line.  I felt strangely proud.  I could have voted later in the day but I guess you are kind of making a statement getting there when the poll workers get there.

I haven’t always appreciated the priviledge of voting. I’ve missed some elections in my life. 

I think now of all the places in the world where it isn’t easy to vote.

We’re lucky. We just don’t realize it. If we did we’d all get to the polls.  ALL of us.

Leave a Reply

