Day 310 of Firsts: Phillies Ball Girl Competition

5 Nov

The other sports are just sports.  Baseball is a love.  ~Bryant Gumbel, 1981

You wouldn’t believe the audition process for a Phillies ball girl.  I got to see just one small part of it.

I was invited to interview some of the candidates in front of the judges.

These women are huge Phillies fans. They are athletes. They are involved in their communities. And there were 500 applying for five open positions. WOW.

To be a ball girl one must show you have a great personality, be able to field a ball, work well with people and know a lot about the Phillies.

One woman who interviewed today is actually a doctor. I was so impressed. She’s my age, in incredible shape, has season tickets to the Phillies and her dream is to be a “ball girl”.

When I got to the ballpark today I was driven in a cart to where I needed to be. Here’s a little peak at what happened.

Michelle DeVicaris will do the final interviews. Honestly, I’m glad I don’t have to choose. These women are such passionate Phillies fans.

I’ll tell you one thing. I don’t think fans know enough about this “team” behind the team. They really are pretty awesome.

2 Responses to “Day 310 of Firsts: Phillies Ball Girl Competition”

  1. Janine Tabas November 6, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Hi Lu Ann
    I am the “Ball-Mom” you interviewed yesterday. A friend just forwarded me your blog. Thanks so much for the nice comments. You made me feel so comfortable yesterday during our interview!!! I felt we really connected, and I came away feeling very positive. I’m keeping my fingers crossed I’m one of the lucky few who get picked.
    Thanks again, Janine T.

    • oneyearoffirsts November 6, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

      Oh my gosh. Good luck to you. I think it would be great if you got it. Unfortunately, I have no say in the judging. Let me know what happens. I think you’d make a great news story!

Leave a Reply

