Day 315 of Firsts: Take a Trumpet Lesson

10 Nov

With the pride of the artist, you must blow against the walls of every power that exists the small trumpet of your defiance. ~Norman Mailer

Oh boy! Sometimes you just know you’re blowing it! (Couldn’t resist)

I can’t play a trumpet to save my life.  I mean who knows. Maybe with daily practice pursing my lips I might one day produce a sound that doesn’t sound like a dying cow.

Still, A.J. Cutwright (the traveling trumpet teacher) is patient beyond patient. (He’s new in town. Just got here from Pittsburgh and ready to take new students.) He came to the station to give me a lesson today. He also plays with a band called Main Line Affair

You might want to hold your ears when I play. Listening to A.J. however, is a pleasure.  

I warned you!

Leave a Reply

