Day 317 of Firsts: Salad & Devotional

12 Nov

Grace isn’t a little prayer you chant before receiving a meal.  It’s a way to live.  ~Attributed to Jacqueline Winspear

Last night I was tired and exhausted and my initial gut feeling was to go home and collapse.

But something made me say YES to an invitation. An invitation to just meet nice people, bring something for a potluck salad and then talk about GRATITUDE.

Okay sounds a little….hmmm…La La Land for you?  Well, all I can say is it was one of my best Firsts.  It was so relaxed and easy as Homa Sabet Tavangar welcomed friends and family into her home. She does this once a month and it’s part of her Baha’i Faith that inspires her to do so.

I didn’t shoot a lot of video. I realized I just wanted to experience it and not think about documenting it.  It was so much more than you’ll see. People told personal stories that just resonated with everyone. Some of us just read sayings on gratitude. This gives you a little taste.

I was thinking I hadn’t done something like this since I was a teenager and then wondered why not… I guess because as adults we feel more comfortable going to parties and talking about what we did, clothes, food, things, vacations, stuff that is just stuff but not necessarily stuff that matters. 

Anyway, I liked it.  Slept like a baby.   I’ll be back for more salad and devotional.

2 Responses to “Day 317 of Firsts: Salad & Devotional”

  1. Linda Barrett November 13, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    Dear Ms. Cahn,
    We met just a few hours ago at the Serenity in Glenside, Pa. You told me I read my story very well. Sharone Gaither gave me your website address and she told me about the poetry section you did for your blog.
    could you show it to me?
    thank you very much,
    Linda Barrett,
    jimmyjane1@verizon.net

  2. Homa December 17, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    Dear Lu Ann,
    What a wonderful contribution you made to our little Salad Devotional. You have so much to share with the world.
    love & peace & why not…a little La La Land!

Leave a Reply

