Day 331 of Firsts: Black Friday Shopping

26 Nov

Shopping is a woman thing.  It’s a contact sport like football.  Women enjoy the scrimmage, the noisy crowds, the danger of being trampled to death, and the ecstasy of the purchase.  ~Erma Bombeck

I never shop on Black Friday. I make it a point to avoid the malls at all cost every year on this date.

Today, however, I threw myself into the fray to try to understand WHY? Are the sales REALLY that good?

Actually yes.  And it turns out the crowds at what I consider the ultimate Black Friday mall, King of Prussia, were not that bad.  I found a parking space within 10 minutes. I never stood in line more than 10 minutes.  Ann Taylor was running a sale that was 40% off the entire bill.  Awesome.

Now I did not get there when the doors opened.  That’s craziness.

Anyway, I conquered my Black Friday shopping fear today.  It’s not nearly as nuts as I had imagined…or maybe it’s just a sign the economy is really still in serious in trouble.

3 Responses to “Day 331 of Firsts: Black Friday Shopping”

  1. Cecelia November 26, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    I too, had my first BF experience. I had to find out what the fuss was all about. I only went to 2 stores…but it was my first Black Friday ever. I think the deals this year are better than ever, because our economy and spirits need a boost 🙂

  2. Marilyn Kleinberg November 28, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    I think if oyu went to Walmart or Target you might have had a totally different experience with people pushing and shoving just to be the first x number of people in the door; at least that;s what some of the news stories showed. I went to Staples…didn’t seem too bad there 🙂

Leave a Reply

