Day 346 of Firsts: Share Story of UC with Teen

12 Dec

Health is like munny, we never have a true idea of its value until we lose it.  ~Josh Billings

15 year old Erin Tiffany has ulcerative colitis. She’s struggled with it since she was 10 and takes half a dozen pills a day.

Ulcerative Colitis is an intestinal bowel disorder.  It’s not a sexy disease. It’s not like breast cancer; something everyone understands. It’s not easy to talk about.

The disease runs in my family and when I was 32 I had my large intestine removed because of ulcerative colitis. Doctors put me back together again with an experimental surgery at the time.

Erin is courageously talking about her disease in school and asked to interview me for the project she’s working on.  I don’t think anyone has interviewed me about UC.  It’s a first in a way and I wish it was easier to talk about in public.

Erin, I hope it helps.

3 Responses to “Day 346 of Firsts: Share Story of UC with Teen”

  1. John VanLuven December 12, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    GREAT story and vary brave of you to help erin tiffany out by doing the interview with her

    thanks AGAIN for another first

    ~JOHN

  2. Art December 16, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    One of the best firsts as it can hopefully help others to discuss their own illnesses

  3. Jen December 18, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    Thank you for sharing your story! As a person living with Crohn’s disease, I appreciate you “taking steps” to help raise awareness about IBD. Every step counts and I would say this First is a big step. 🙂

Leave a Reply

