Day 354 of Firsts: Cut Down a Christmas Tree

20 Dec

Suburbia is where the developer bulldozes out the trees, then names the streets after them.  ~Bill Vaughn

Initially I thought this was a great idea. Now I kind of feel bad about cutting down a tree. I do. I just never cut down a tree before.

My husband usually buys a tree every year. I usually have little to do with it. This year I compelled him to do the “cut your own” as a first.  He handed me the saw.  It seemed like a good idea.

Now I’m thinking, why do people call it a “live”tree.  Hmmm.  Next year maybe it’s time to for a fake tree.  Just a thought.

<!–, quoted in The Portable Curmudgeon compiled by Jon Winokur–>

2 Responses to “Day 354 of Firsts: Cut Down a Christmas Tree”

  1. Cherie Mathews December 21, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    Wow now you have done almost everything a person could possibly do in a year. I hope you don’t stop, I will miss seeing you everyday 🙂
    You are a great inspiration to all people to get out there and LIVE!! everyday is a gift!
    Early detection saves lives so you can be here to enjoy a new thing everyday.
    Merry Christmas Lu Ann
    hugs Cherie Mathews
    fb healincomfort.com but I think you already are my friend on that page 🙂

    • oneyearoffirsts December 21, 2010 at 9:22 am #

      Hi Cherie,
      You’ve been so supportive. Thank you so much. But don’t worry. I’m continuing the blog in a new form and I hope to be featuring women like you who have transformed their lives. Hope you’ll let me interview you for my new project. Happy Holidays. You inspire me as well and so many others.
      Lu Ann

Leave a Reply

