Day 195 of Firsts: Eat a Scorpion!!!

13 Jul

 Charles Manson

From the world of darkness I did loose demons and devils in the power of scorpions to torment.” 

If you’ve been following this blog, you know that my work partner of 18 years, Dave Bentley,  recently left NBC 10 in Philadelphia to live the good life in Phoenix.   

Well, he sent me a little present this week:  A scorpion lollipop. Yes, it’s  a real Scorpion in a sucker. Apparently, there are so many scorpions running around out there they don’t know what to do with them, so they kill them or eat them.  (Wait, I guess they kill them THEN eat them.)

I guess it’s an appropriate gift. I’m a Scorp and it’s definitely a First.  I can’t recall ever eating any insects. 

 The little sucker was crunchy and I grossed out the interns!

Watch the video and you can get grossed out too.

I can’t really tell you what it tasted like. Maybe like crunchy cardboard or something kind of musty. I’ve definitely tasted worst things but I wouldn’t go out of my way to taste it again.

Anyway, Dave thank you for your contribution.  Do they eat snakes out there too?   

 

2 Responses to “Day 195 of Firsts: Eat a Scorpion!!!”

  1. Mary Ziogas July 14, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Wow Lu Ann, You are very gutsy! What will your co-workers and or interns make you eat next?

  2. Hi Lu Ann… my son enjoyed your video… he LOVES those gross lollis!!! He has quite a collection… from grub lolli’s to scorpions.. he sucks the lolli completely away.. then runs amuck with the nasty scorpion on his tongue… and has eaten a few in the past… once for school classmates… he thinks they taste bitter Kudos!

    ~jen and tyler donovan

Leave a comment